WSOP News - Brandon Shack-Harris On Course to Make History

Brandon Shack-Harris

Four days into the 2014 WSOP tournament and history could be in the making as 2013 WSOP bracelet winner Brandon Shack-Harris is in the lead in the $50,000 Poker Players' Championship. A total of 22 players returned for Day Four out of the original field of 102, and eight of those would not being going home happy, as the prize pool only extends to the top fourteen finishers. At the start of play, Abe Mosseri – known as “EazyPeazy” at Full Tilt Poker - sat on top of the field with just over 1.7 million in chips, with Shack-Harris in second (just under 1.2 million) and Matt Giantz in third (just over 1 million).


The 22 became 21 on the first hand of the day when Vladimir Shchemelev put the remainder of his stack on KK97 in Pot Limit Omaha but lost to Shack-Harris's AAJT. The tables were then re-drawn. The smaller stacks were swiftly eliminated, leading the field down to 17. Among those remaining was Melissa Burr, who – if she survived three more elminiations – would go down in poker history as the first female player ever to win cash in the Poker Players' Championship.

As play continued, Shack-Harris eventually gained enough ground on Mosseri to take the chip lead. Jason Mercier was eliminated in 17th place, followed by Brock Parker who was crippled in a hand of Razz. After ninety more minutes of play no one else had been eliminated and Jesse Martin, James Obst and Frank Kassela were all now challenging Shack-Harris and Mosseri at the top of the chip ladder.

Eventually the short stacks began to fall away, leading inexorably towards the final table – Giantz, Robert Mizrachi and Jonathan Duhamel were all eliminated within an hour, followed over the course of the evening by Obst, Todd Brunson and Scott Seiver.

This meant only one more player was to be eliminated to form the final table, but the time limit came in on Day Four before that happened, leaving the standings as follows:

1. Brandon Shack-Harris – 4.1 million
2. Abe Mosseri – 3.5 million
3. Frank Kassela – 2.5 million
4. John Hennigan – 1.9 million
5. Chun Lei Zhou – 1.4 million
6. Jess Martin – 0.84 million
7. Melissa Burr – 0.66 million
8. Allen Kessler – 0.44 million

If Shack-Harris were to win the Poker Player's Championship, it would put pressure on George Danzer for the lead in the WSOP Player of the Year award. It would also swell Shack-Harris's bank account by just over $1.5 million.

Review of WSOP News - Brandon Shack-Harris on course to make history - Reviewed by
Back to Full List


Leave a Comment...

Enter word verification

Hall of Fame

Winner Poker Logo
Read More
#1 Logo
Read More
William Hill Poker Logo
Read More


May 22nd, 2015 - Enjoy a 'Day at the Races' courtesy of BetOnline Poker Read More...

May 15th, 2015 - Win a $3,000 trip to Las Vegas courtesy of Bovada Poker Read More...

May 8th, 2015 - The 2015 Carbon Online Poker Series has begun Read More...

May 1st, 2015 - Land a knockout blow at Full Flush Poker Read More...

April 24th, 2015 - Play at the 2015 WSOP courtesy of BetOnline Read More...

April 17th, 2015 - You can win a trip to the World Series of Poker 2015 courtesy of 888poker Read More...

April 10th, 2015 - Play for a billion! The Billion Chip Freeroll at Full Tilt Poker is back! Read More...

March 27th, 2015 - Hit the poker tables at Bovada Poker's 2015 Black Diamond Poker Open Read More...